ununderstandable message

  • Bonjour,


    I upgraded the system using apt-get


    apt-get update && apt-get upgrade


    Since this day, I get this message:

    Subject: Pending configuration changes

    Code
    The configuration has been changed. You must apply the changes in order for them to take effect.


    Who send this message?

    What does it mean.

    How to stop it (and satisfy the offended service...)


    Thank you.


    F.P.

  • Do you get this same message along the top bar of your GUI when you login? If so, click apply and

    Confirm.

    Simple and sure backup and restore: In a Scheduled Job: rsync -av --delete /srv/dev-disk-by-label-SOURCE/ /srv/dev-disk-by-label-DESTINATION/ (HT: Getting Started with OMV5)
    OMV 5 (current) - Hardware: Thinkserver TS140, Nextcloud, Plex, Airsonic, Navidrome, Ubooquity, Digikam, & Heimdall - NanoPi M4 (v.1), backup - Odroid XU4, Pi-Hole (DietPi) - Testing/Playing: hc2, xu4, Pi 3B+, Odroid H2. Mac user trying to convert to Linux on a HP dx2400, Debian 10 XFCE.

  • I don't use omv guy, I hate graphical interfaces! I admin my servers via cli, it is the first time I see that some upgrade has to be confirmed: why? and doing what?

    That's a mystery.

    F.P.

  • Now myself, not being a “guy” hater, I have noticed recently when upgrading that there is an Apply notice to finalize the upgrade. Now those questions are above my pay grade.

    Simple and sure backup and restore: In a Scheduled Job: rsync -av --delete /srv/dev-disk-by-label-SOURCE/ /srv/dev-disk-by-label-DESTINATION/ (HT: Getting Started with OMV5)
    OMV 5 (current) - Hardware: Thinkserver TS140, Nextcloud, Plex, Airsonic, Navidrome, Ubooquity, Digikam, & Heimdall - NanoPi M4 (v.1), backup - Odroid XU4, Pi-Hole (DietPi) - Testing/Playing: hc2, xu4, Pi 3B+, Odroid H2. Mac user trying to convert to Linux on a HP dx2400, Debian 10 XFCE.

  • I just performed a little test. I upgraded one machine via GUI and another machine via the command line. Of course the two upgrades were from different versions. The second machine hasn't been on in a while so there were some differences in what was being upgraded, but here is what I found:

    GUI: There was no Apply banner when the upgrade finished.


    Command Line: There was an Apply banner and a reboot notice on the GUI when the command line finished.


    So there you have it. Depending on what you hate, you get what you get and you don't throw a fit. No harm done and it works correctly either way.

    Have a good day.

    Simple and sure backup and restore: In a Scheduled Job: rsync -av --delete /srv/dev-disk-by-label-SOURCE/ /srv/dev-disk-by-label-DESTINATION/ (HT: Getting Started with OMV5)
    OMV 5 (current) - Hardware: Thinkserver TS140, Nextcloud, Plex, Airsonic, Navidrome, Ubooquity, Digikam, & Heimdall - NanoPi M4 (v.1), backup - Odroid XU4, Pi-Hole (DietPi) - Testing/Playing: hc2, xu4, Pi 3B+, Odroid H2. Mac user trying to convert to Linux on a HP dx2400, Debian 10 XFCE.

  • I had this banner in the GUI myself a few times in the past. But since a month or so the banner doesn't pop up anymore.

    Hewlett-Packard HP t630 (AMD Embedded G-Series GX-420GI | QuadCore | 8GB)
    omv 5.6.7-1 (Usul) | 64 bit | 5.11 proxmox kernel | omvextrasorg 5.6

  • Some updates that include fixes require to rebuild configurations for various fixes. These are not applied silently anymore, instead the admin has to decide when to apply them. What has been changed is not visible due technical reasons, but this does not matter because the concept of OMV is to be simple and keep everything away from the user.

Participate now!

Don’t have an account yet? Register yourself now and be a part of our community!