OVM doesnt start anymore

• Hello, first of all, I do not know Linux so well, I'm just learning. Now I have the following problem, after a mainboard change I get this error message:

mdadm found some drive for an array that is already active: /dev/md0 Mdadm giving up

Gave Up waiting for root filge system device. Common Problems:

-Boot args (cat /proc/cmdline)

- Check rootdelay = (did the system wait enough?)

-Missing modules (cat /prox/modules ; is /dev

ALERT! /dec/sda1 does not exist . Dropping to shell

I have connected all hard drives and changed all cables no result. Maybe one of you can help me ?

Greetings

Trinan

Translated with http://www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

• macom

Hat das Thema freigeschaltet.
  • Plug sda to another port on the mainboard and try again.

If you got help in the forum and want to give something back to the project click here (omv) or here (scroll down) (plugins) and write up your solution for others.

• Since you changed the Mainboard, you can try to only plug the OMV drive and boot up.

You probably will need to update-grub

See if all is OK apart the missing drive's array.

After, you can plug the rest of the drive's and boot up again.

Now, some speculation:

mdadm arrays are bound to the hardware they are built, (AFAIK).

Changing from one Mainboard to another implies a change of controller unless the Mainboards are exactly the same.

This is something that geaves can shed some light on (I hope)

• Another stupid question: new motherboard, but OMV4. Is the board supported by debian stretch?

If you got help in the forum and want to give something back to the project click here (omv) or here (scroll down) (plugins) and write up your solution for others.

• Offizieller Beitrag

mdadm arrays are bound to the hardware they are built, (AFAIK).

Changing from one Mainboard to another implies a change of controller unless the Mainboards are exactly the same.