Network Card Help!

• Hello,

I'd like to start with I'm extremely new to Linux things, any action needed will require me to google how it is done.

with that out of the way, I have an issue with a newly added network card. The motherboard's ethernet port is 100 Mbps and I'm trying to install a 2.5Gbps network card (or even 1Gbps, I have both at hand) but it isn't showing in network interface no matter what I do. I've been at it for few days, googling anything related & testing different solutions but none worked so far. I'd hope someone could help in getting this network card up and running. I believe the network card info: Manufacturer: Glotrends. Name: LE8105. Chip (according to the box): RTL8125BG.

OMV version:

I'm not sure if this is the right place to add the network card, but I'm trying to add ethernet interface from "network" in OMV webpage but I can only see the virtual ports I have running inside docker (or so I believe!):

If any information is needed, please tell me and I'll post them here!

Appreciate any help.

• votdev

Hat das Thema freigeschaltet.
    • Neu
    • Offizieller Beitrag

You should google if this card/chip is supported by your linux kernel. If not, update to the latest OMV version which is OMV7.

Well you should update in any case, as OMV5 is end of life for a long time and is not supported anymore. Same applies to the Debian Version, OMV is based on.

• I feel your only solution is to move to OMV7. I fought the Realtek 8125/26/52/56 2.5 Ghz driver issue for months on OMV6 and finally got fed up enough to move to OMV7. Works perfectly under OMV 7, full bandwidth is realized (280 MB/s) although I still have an annoying initialization problem that started after an update (as documented here: RE: RPI updates - Ethernet dongle - Remote Mount)

7.0.5-1 (Sandworm)

Processor Raspberry Pi 4 Model B Rev 1.5

Linux 6.6.20+rpt-rpi-v8

• Thanks to you both. I will update to OMV7 and see if it fixes it.